Skip to content Skip to footer
A Promise of Ankles by Alexander McCall Smith

A Promise of Ankles

‘A Promise of Ankles’ is the latest in Alexander McCall Smith’s Scotland Street series. It’s a light-hearted update on all the characters from the previous books in the series. Angus and Domenica are occupied by the discovery of a Neanderthal skull which gets lost on a bus. Bertie and his father Stuart have been emancipated from the tyranny of Irene. Big Lou’s cafe is now a partnership with Matthew and she’s reluctantly accepting his changes to attract more people. Matthew and James (the au pair) must rescue the Duke from his captor.

It’s an easy, picturesque summer read, but it doesn’t seem to have the oomph of some of the earlier books in this series.

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment